Who is this book for?
Oxford Practice Grammar is for students of English at a middle or 'intermediate' level. This means students who are no longer beginners but who are not yet expert in English. The book is suitable for those studying for the Cambridge First Certificate in English. It can be used by students attending classes or by someone working alone.
What does the book consist of?
The book consists of 153 units, each on a grammatical topic. The units cover the main areas of English grammar. Special attention is given to those points which are often a problem for learners: the meaning of the different verb forms, the use of the passive, conditionals, prepositions and so on.
Many units contrast two or more different structures such as the present perfect and past simple (Units 14-15). There are also a number of review units. The emphasis through the whole book is on the meaning and use of the forms in situations. Most units start with a dialogue, or sometimes a text, which shows how the forms are used in a realistic context.
There are also 25 tests. These come after each group of units and cover the area of grammar dealt with in those units.

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google
  • Furl
  • Reddit
  • Spurl
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati

Leave a comment